APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE INSTRUCTIONS
To assure consideration of your license application, the Board office must receive all of these items no later
than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the Board’s meeting date:
• Completed, signed and notarized application form
• Fee payment
• All required supporting documentation.
The Board’s Rules and Regulations, Meeting Dates, and Law are available at www.hacr.alabama.gov.
If you have any questions, email firstname.lastname@example.org or call (334) 241-0840.
HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS OR SYSTEM. A heating and/or cooling apparatus consisting of an air heating and/or cooling
fixture from pipes, plenums or blowers including any accessory and equipment installed in connection herewith; specifically
excluding window units, automotive or farm implement type heating and/or air conditioning equipment.
REFRIGERATION. The use of mechanical or absorption equipment to control temperature, humidity, or both, in order to satisfy the intended use of
a specific space, other than for human comfort.
Examples of HVAC and Refrigeration Systems (list is not all inclusive):
Heating - Forced Air Systems, Ventilation, Gas Piping, Mini-Split, Heat Pumps, Central Heat, etc.
Air Conditioning- Forced Air Systems, Ventilation, Mini-Split, Heat Pumps, Central Air, etc.
Refrigeration - Walk-In Coolers, Reach-In Coolers, Commercial Refrigerators, Refrigerated Storage, etc.
1. Licensure by Examination: (New Licensees)
o Completed, signed and notarized application EA-1 through EA-4
. Processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Alabama.” The fee for examination is $150.00
o If you have an “Apprentice Certificate” issued by the Board, you will only need to provide copies of your apprenticeship certificates for the previous two years.
o If you have graduated from an approved curriculum, you will only need to provide copies of your transcripts showing completion and graduation of program.
o If you do not have an Apprentice Certificate or have graduated from an approved curriculum you must submit:
o Proof of at least three thousand (3000) hours work experience (18 months) gained under supervision of a HACR licensee. Use the Affidavit form included in the application packet.
o Tax form W-2 and an affidavit of the employer or officer of the employing company as proof of experience. Acceptance of proof of experience is at the discretion of the Board.
Upon Successful Completion of the Examination: Please determine a status of your certification.
1. Active Status:
For contractors who perform HVAC or Refrigeration installation, service or repair must hold an ACTIVE certification with the Board.
In order to apply for an active certification you must submit forms AL-1
of the license application along with a performance bond in the amount of $15,000
along with the active certification fee.
2. Inactive Status:
You may place your license on Inactive status. You cannot practice while your license is in inactive status. To request inactive
status, you must submit form AL-1
If you wish to change your status you must complete and submit form CS-1
along with appropriate fees.
2. Licensure by Reciprocity: (Hold a current and valid license in a reciprocating state)
You may apply by reciprocity if you hold a current and valid license in Mississippi, Louisiana or Tennessee.
o Completed, signed and notarized application forms AL-1
o Processing fee by check, credit card or money order made payable to "State of Alabama. “Fees for Active contractors are $165.00 annually and $82.50 for inactive contractors annually.
o Performance Bond in the amount of $15,000 in the business name listing the Board as obligee (use form BF-1
o FOREIGN CORPORATION (BUSINESS OR NON-PROFIT) APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION (To apply as a foreign corporation please visit the Alabama Secretary of State website at
Incomplete Applications Will Be Returned